Types of Committees


Committees of the County Assembly are established and operate pursuant to the Constitution of Kenya, 2010, the Standing Orders, other enabling legislation and Resolutions of the Assembly. The County Assembly Standing Orders provide for the following two broad types of Committees namely-

1.     Sectoral Committees

The mandate of Sectoral Committees is in respect to the subject matter assigned by the Standing Orders and is exercised within the limits contemplated under Part 2 of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution.

  1. Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries
  2. Environment and Natural Resources
  3. Energy and Information, Communications and Technology
  4. Transport and Public Works
  5. Planning and Housing
  6. Trade, Tourism and Cooperatives
  7. Water and Sanitation
  8. Culture and Community Services
  9. Justice and Legal Affairs
  10. Labour and Social Welfare
  11. Health Services
  12. Children, Early Childhood Education and Vocational Training

2.    Select Committees

  1. Selection
  2. Appointments
  3. Finance, Budget and Appropriations
  4. Implementation
  5. Delegated County Legislation
  6. Wards Development Fund
  7. Public Accounts Committee(PAC)
  8. Public Investments Committee(PIC)
  9. Assembly Business Committee
  10. Liaison Committee
  11. Committee of Powers and Privileges
  12. Procedure and Assembly Rules Committee
  13. Loans Management
Scroll Up