Subject: Appointment of the Earlier Approved Members of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disability Board

            THAT, aware the Nairobi City County Persons with Disability Board was passed by the assembly on 2nd December 2015, accented into law on 12thJanuary 2016 and subsequently gazetted vide the Nairobi City County Gazette Supplement No. 24 Act No. 9; Further aware, that in Section Four of the said Act establishesthe Nairobi City County Board for Person Living with Disability with its membership specified in Section 5 of the Act which includes:

i)Three persons nominated by organizations representing persons with various categories of disability within the County;

ii)Two Members appointed from a panel of names submitted to the CECM by organizations for PWD subject to approval by the Assembly;

iii)Chief Officer or Director representing the following departments; (a) Culture and Social Services, (b) Education, (c) Labour, and;

iv)Such other members as may be co-opted by the Board subject to approval by the County Assembly.

Appreciating that; Section 5 (2) of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Act, 2015 provides that the membership of the Board shall not exceed 11 persons, out of whom at least half of the members shall be persons with disabilities; Noting that the Nairobi City County Assembly through the Sectoral Committee on Labour and Social Welfare vetted and Approved the nominees to the Nairobi City Count Persons with Disabilities Board as it were, being; -

i)Dr. Lumbi Wa M’nabea –Business Owners Association

ii)Nickson Ochieng’ Kakiri

iii)Yvonne Buliba Okwara –Brian Resources Training, Production and Dissemination Centre

iv)Charity Njoki Kamau –Association for Youth with Disabilities Kenya

v)Peter Achola Oloo –Kenya Amputee Football Federation

vi)James Nganga Karanja –Differently Talented Society of Kenya vii)Leonard Misigo Ondego –Cerebral Palsy Disability Sports

viii)Fern Eshuchi –Fair Miles School

ix)Ruth Akinyi Auwor –Director Education (Executive)

x)Leboo Ole Morintat –Chief Officer Public Service Management (Executive)

xi)Shem Ombura Nyandwaro –Director Culture and Social Services (Executive)

Further Noting that; the names of the aforementioned approved nominees were subsequently gazetted vide a Gazette Notice No. 9 of 2015 on 28th July 2017 for a three years term as per Section 6 of the Act; disturbed that operationalization of the Act was never realized as the Board lacked funding, office and secretariat; further disturbed that the term of the first Persons with Disabilities Board ended prior to its realization; acknowledging that the Annual Development Plan for the FY 2021/2022 has addressed the same,this Assembly Resolves that; the Nairobi City County Public Service Board urgently re-appoints the earlier approved and gazetted Members of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Board vide Gazette Notice No. 9 of 2015 on 28th July 2017 as it were for an extra term.

Notice of Motion 1st January, 1970
Mover Hon. Mary Mwami, MCA
Seconder Hon. Rose Ogonda, MCA
Division None
Dates Debated and/or Concluded 16th March, 2021
Remarks Adopted
Scroll Up