First Assembly (No. 052)



Second Session (125)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

FIRST ASSEMBLY - (SECOND SESSION)

ORDERS OF THE DAY

WEDNESDAY JULY 30, 2014 AT 2.30 P.M.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

8. *MOTION - (Hon. Andrew Macharia Mbao)

THAT, aware that recent years have witnessed increased road accidents with more than three thousand Kenyans dying annually because of road accidents; noting that most accidents in Nairobi City County are caused by handcarts pushed or parked along the roads particularly at night; deeply concerned that most handcarts have no reflectors and often ply on the wrong side of the road which often gets drivers unaware and has been cited as a causation of many avoidable accidents within the County; aware that County transport including traffic, parking, public road transport is the function of a county government under Part Two of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution; acknowledging that every individual's life is prudent; this Assembly urges the County Government to move with speed and ensure that handcarts are installed with reflectors and bells and there is set a fixed working hours preferably from 6.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. to reduce the road carnage within the County.

NOTICE

The Assembly resolved on Wednesday, February 19, 2014 as follows:-

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any **Motion** including a Special motion, be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

* Denotes Orders of the Day