Second Assembly (No. 007) Fourth Session (029)



REPUBLIC OF KENYA

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

<u>SECOND ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)</u>

ORDERS OF THE DAY

SUPPLEMENTARY

TUESDAY, MARCH 3, 2020 AT 2.30 P.M.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statement

8. *<u>MOTION</u> – HON. CHARLES THUO WAKARINDI, MCA – MAJORITY LEADER

Subject: Ad Hoc Committee to oversee the transition and stakeholder engagement towards development of a policy

THAT, aware that Article 187 of the Constitution, 2010 and Section 24 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the transfer of functions and powers from one level of Government to another; further aware that Sections 25, 26 and 28 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the principles, agreements and criteria on the transfer of functions, powers and competencies from one level of Government to another; recognizing that on 25th February, 2020, the Governor signed a memorandum transferring some of the County Government functions such as health services to the National Government as provided for the Constitution with effect after twenty-one (21) days and for twenty-four (24) months

TUESDAY, MARCH 3, 2020

subject to renewal; further recognizing that the County Executive has been facing by a series of challenges ranging from in implementation of strategic plans and leakages in revenue collection; noting that Article 187 (2) (b) provides that constitutional responsibility for performance of the function or exercise of power shall remain with the government to which it is assigned by the Fourth Schedule, this Assembly resolves to establish an Ad Hoc Committee comprising of the underlisted Members to oversee the transition and stakeholder engagement towards development of a policy that would operationalize the transfer deed for effective service delivery.

- 1. Hon. Beatrice K. Elachi, MCA, CBS Speaker and Chairperson
- 2. Hon. Charles Thuo Wakarindi, MCA Majority Leader, Vice-Chairperson
- 3. Hon. David N. Mberia, MCA Minority Leader
- 4. Hon. John Kamangu, MCA Deputy Speaker
- 5. Hon. June Juliet Ndegwa, MCA Majority Whip
- 6. Hon. Peter A. Imwatok, MCA Minority Whip
- 7. Hon. Robert N. Mbatia, MCA
- 8. Hon. James Chege Mwaura, MCA
- 9. Hon. Christopher Kabiro Mbugua, MCA
- 10. Hon. Peter Wanyoike, MCA
- 11. Hon. Paul Kiguathi Kados, MCA
- 12. Hon. Emily Oduor Ondenje, MCA
- 13. Hon. Moses Ogeto Nyangeresi, MCA
- 14. Hon. Michael Ogada Okumu, MCA
- 15. Hon. Mellab Lumalah Atemah, MCA
- 16. Hon. Francis Otieno Ngesa, MCA

(No. 007)

<u>NOTICES</u>

I. The Assembly resolved on Wednesday, 19th February, 2020 as follows: -

a) THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 103(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:-A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

* Denotes Orders of the Day*