

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

SECOND ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)

ORDERS OF THE DAY

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 26, 2020.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- **4.** Petitions
- **5.** Papers
- **6.** Notices of Motion
- 7. Statement

8. *MOTION - HON. WAITHERA CHEGE, MCA

Subjects: Gender-based Violence Desks in the Sub-Counties

THAT, aware that Article 28 of the Constitution 2010 specifies that every person has inherent dignity and the right to have that dignity respected and protected; further aware that Article 25 (a) of the Constitution provides for freedom from torture and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; cognizant that every person has the right to freedom and security which includes the right not to be subjected to any form of violence from either public or private sources; further cognizant that international laws and instruments such as Convention of Elimination of all forms Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), UN resolutions 1325 and 1820 deprecate violence against women as it impedes the advancement of women and maintains their subordinate status; noting that Maputo Protocol on the rights of women which states that parties shall adopt and implement appropriate measures to ensure the protection of every woman's right to respect for her dignity and protection of women from all forms of violence, particularly sexual and verbal violence; concerned that there has been an increase in incidences of Gender-Based Violence and Sexual Gender-Based Violence in the County which has been

accelerated by the corona virus pandemic that has maimed people lives; further concerned that many such gender-based violence acts have gone unnoticed due to lack of proper reporting mechanisms which has resulted in family break-ups; acknowledging that the County is in the process of enacting a law on the gender-based violence issues, this Assembly urges the County Executive to establish Gender Based Violence Desks and well trained staff at City Hall as the central point and in all the Sub-Counties to provide for post-trauma care facilities for survivors of Sexual and Gender Based Violence (GBV) in the County.

9. * COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE ASSEMBLY

Subjects: Committee of the Whole Assembly & Third reading

The Nairobi City County Pop-Up and Street Vendors Bill, 2019 (Assembly Bill No. 9 of 2019)

(Committee of the Whole Assembly)

Hon. Kabiru Mbugua, MCA.

* Denotes Orders of the Day *

I. The Assembly resolved on Wednesday, 19th February, 2020 as follows: -

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 103(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any **Motion**, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:-A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 103(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on Bills NOT sponsored by a Committee, the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party be limited as follows:- A maximum of three hours and thirty minutes, with not more than thirty (30) minutes for the Mover, in moving and ten (10) minutes in replying, a maximum of thirty (30) minutes for the Chairperson of the relevant Committee and a maximum of ten (10) minutes for any other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen Minutes (15) each; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.