Second Assembly (No. 001)



COUNTY GOVERNMENT OF NAIROBI CITY

SECOND ASSEMBLY - (FIFTH SESSION)

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 9TH, 2020 AT 9:30 A.M.

- 1. The Assembly assembled at thirty minutes past Nine O'clock.
- **2.** The Proceedings were opened with Prayer.

QUORUM OF THE ASSEMBLY

The Hon. Deputy Speaker having confirmed that there was quorum at the commencement of the Assembly called the Assembly to order.

3. COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR: -

The Speaker conveyed the following Communication: -

COMMENCEMENT OF THE FIFTH SESSION OF THIS SECOND ASSEMBLY

"Hon. Members, as you are all aware today marks the commencement of the Fifth Session of this Second Assembly. Accordingly, Hon. Members, I take this opportunity to welcome you all back from the long recess and festive season. I trust you had all a wonderful and fruitful break together with your families and electorates. It is good to see you all back rejuvenated and ready to execute the duties bestowed upon you under public trust. It is unfortunate that this was happening at the backdrop of a revenging COVID19 pandemic.

However, I am grateful to the almighty God for keeping all of us safe even as we continue to uphold the Ministry of Health guidelines. Hon. Members, the fifth session presents us with an opportunity to effectively carry out our mandate since I know most of us have now understood the required tools of transacting business in the House. It is also during this session that we have an opportunity to deliver on our promises to the electorate. Therefore, I call Members to adopt a bipartisan approach in considering this business that shall come before this Assembly, so that we can be able to achieve what is best of this great County.

Thank you.

(No. 001)

4. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION- APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE SELECT</u> <u>COMMITTEE ON ASSEMBLY BUSINESS</u>

Motion Made and Question proposed

THAT, pursuant to the provision of Standing Orders 163 (1), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following Members to the Select Committee on Assembly Business.

- 1. The Hon. Benson Mutura, MCA Speaker & Chairperson
- 2. The Hon. Geoffrey Majiwa, MCA Deputy Speaker
- 3. The Hon. John Kamangu, MCA Chairperson of Committees
- 4. The Hon. Hassan I. Abdi, MCA Leader of the Majority Party
- 5. The Hon. Michael Ogada, MCA Leader of the Minority Party
- 6. The Hon. Peter Gitau Wanyoike Deputy Leader of the Majority Party.
- 7. The Hon. Paul Kados, MCA
 - MCA Majority Party Whip
- 8. The Hon. Peter Imwatok, MCA Minority Party Whip
- 9. The Hon. Esther Waithera Chege, MCA Deputy Majority Whip
- 10. The Hon. Moses Ogeto, MCA Deputy Minority Whip
- 11. The Hon. Jeremiah Themendu, MCA.
- 12. The Hon. June Julliet Ndegwa, MCA.
- 13. The Hon. Peter Muriithi Warutere, MCA
- 14. The Hon. Jacinta Wanjiru, MCA.
- 15. The Hon. Peter Wahinya Kimuhu, MCA
- 16. The Hon. Wilfred Odalo, MCA
- 17. The Hon. Rose Ogonda, MCA
- 18. The Hon. Emily Oduor, MCA
- 19. The Hon. Esther Nyangweso, MCA

(The Leader of Majority Party)

Debate ensued; Mover Replied; Question put and <u>Agreed to;</u>

And the time being Forty one Minutes Past Ten O'clock, the Speaker adjourned the Assembly without Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

5. <u>ASSEMBLY ROSE</u> - at forty-one Minutes past Ten O'clock.

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Thursday, 9th February 2021 at 2.30p.m.