

COUNTY GOVERNMENT OF NAIROBI CITY SECOND ASSEMBLY - FOURTH SESSION

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, MARCH 3, 2020 AT 2.30 P.M.

- **1.** The Assembly assembled at Thirty Minutes past Three O'clock.
- **2.** The Proceedings were opened with Prayer.

QUORUM OF THE COUNTY ASSEMBLY-

The Hon. Speaker having confirmed that there was quorum, proceeded with the Business as it was in the order paper.

3. COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR: -

The hon. Speaker did a communication on the following;

- i) Governors impeachment motion and
- ii) Public participation on the implementation of the deed of transfer of the functions

4. PAPERS LAID: -

The following papers were laid on the table of the Assembly;

- i) THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY FISCAL STRATEGY PAPER FY 2020/2021
- ii) THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY DEBT MANAGEMENT STRATEGY PAPER FY 2020/2021.

(Leader of the Majority Party)

iii) A REPORT OF A DELEGATION THAT ATTENDED THE LABOUR AND CHILDHOOD EDUCATION CONFERENCE HELD IN DORTMUND GERMANY FROM 24TH JULY TO 31ST AUGUST 2019.

5. NOTICE OF MOTION - HON. CHARLES THUO WAKARINDI, MCA LEADER OF THE MAJORITY PARTY.

THAT, aware that Article 187 of the Constitution, 2010 and Section 24 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the transfer of functions and powers from one level of Government to another; further aware that Sections 25, 26 and 28 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the principles, agreements and criteria on the transfer of functions, powers and competencies from one level of Government to another; recognizing that on 25th February, 2020, the Governor signed a memorandum transferring some of the County Government functions such as health services to the National Government as provided for the Constitution with effect after twenty-one (21) days and for twenty-four (24) months subject to renewal; further recognizing that the County Executive has been facing by a series of challenges ranging from in implementation of strategic plans and leakages in revenue collection; noting that Article 187 (2) (b) provides that constitutional responsibility for performance of the function or exercise of power shall remain with the government to which it is assigned by the Fourth Schedule, this Assembly resolves to establish an Ad Hoc Committee comprising of the under listed Members to oversee the transition and stakeholder engagement towards development of a policy that would operationalize the transfer deed for effective service delivery.

- 1. Hon. Beatrice K. Elachi, MCA, CBS Speaker and Chairperson
- 2. Hon. Charles Thuo Wakarindi, MCA Majority Leader, Vice-Chairperson
- 3. Hon. David N. Mberia, MCA Minority Leader
- 4. Hon. John Kamangu, MCA Deputy Speaker
- 5. Hon. June Juliet Ndegwa, MCA Majority Whip
- 6. Hon. Peter A. Imwatok, MCA Minority Whip
- 7. Hon. Robert N. Mbatia, MCA
- 8. Hon. James Chege Mwaura, MCA
- 9. Hon. Peter Wanyoike, MCA
- 10. Hon. Christopher Kabiro Mbugua, MCA
- 11. Hon. Paul Kiguathi Kados, MCA
- 12. Hon. Emily Oduor Ondenje, MCA
- 13. Hon. Moses Ogeto Nyangeresi, MCA
- 14. Hon. Michael Ogada Okumu, MCA
- 15. Hon. Mellab Lumalah Atemah, MCA
- 16. Hon. Francis Otieno Ngesa, MCA

6. MOTION - AD HOC COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE TRANSITION AND STAKEHOLDER ENGAGEMENT TOWARDS DEVELOPMENT OF A POLICY

Motion Made and Question proposed: -

THAT, aware that Article 187 of the Constitution, 2010 and Section 24 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the transfer of functions and powers from one level of Government to another; further aware that Sections 25, 26 and 28 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act, 2012 provides for the principles, agreements and criteria on the transfer of functions, powers and competencies from one level of Government to another; recognizing that on 25th February, 2020, the Governor signed a memorandum transferring some of the County Government functions such as health services to the National Government as provided for the Constitution with effect after twenty-one (21) days and for twenty-four (24) months subject to renewal; further recognizing that the County Executive has been facing by a series of challenges ranging from in implementation of strategic plans and leakages in revenue collection; noting that Article 187 (2) (b) provides that constitutional responsibility for performance of the function or exercise of power shall remain with the government to which it is assigned by the Fourth Schedule, this Assembly resolves to establish an Ad Hoc Committee comprising of the under listed Members to oversee the transition and stakeholder engagement towards development of a policy that would operationalize the transfer deed for effective service delivery.

- 1. Hon. Beatrice K. Elachi, MCA, CBS Speaker and Chairperson
- 2. Hon. Charles Thuo Wakarindi, MCA Majority Leader, Vice-Chairperson
- 3. Hon. David N. Mberia, MCA Minority Leader
- 4. Hon. John Kamangu, MCA Deputy Speaker
- 5. Hon. June Juliet Ndegwa, MCA Majority Whip
- 6. Hon. Peter A. Imwatok, MCA Minority Whip
- 7. Hon. Robert N. Mbatia, MCA
- 8. Hon. James Chege Mwaura, MCA
- 9. Hon. Peter Wanyoike, MCA
- 10. Hon. Christopher Kabiro Mbugua, MCA
- 11. Hon. Paul Kiguathi Kados, MCA
- 12. Hon. Emily Oduor Ondenje, MCA
- 13. Hon. Moses Ogeto Nyangeresi, MCA
- 14. Hon. Michael Ogada Okumu, MCA
- 15. Hon. Mellab Lumalah Atemah, MCA
- 16. Hon. Francis Otieno Ngesa, MCA

(Hon. Charles Thuo, MCA – Majority Leader)

Mover replied; Question put and **Agreed to.**

There being no other business and the time being thirty minutes past Four O'clock the Speaker adjourned the Assembly without Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

7. ASSEMBLY ROSE - Thirty minutes past Four O'clock

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Wednesday, March 4th, 2020 at 2.30 p.m.

--X-