

COUNTY GOVERNMENT OF NAIROBI CITY

SECOND ASSEMBLY - (THIRD SESSION)

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2019

- 1. The Assembly assembled at Thirty Minutes past Two O'clock.
- **2.** The Proceedings were opened with Prayer.

QUORUM OF THE ASSEMBLY

The Hon. Speaker having confirmed that there was no Quorum caused the Bell to be rung for Ten minutes.

There being a Quorum at the expiry of the Ten Minutes, the Temporary Speaker called the Assembly to order.

3. MESSAGES

The Hon. Speaker conveyed the following message from H.E The Governor.

Hon. Members,

Standing Order 43 (1) relating to Messages from the Governor provides that "the Speaker shall read to the County Assembly any message from the

Governor or the Senator of the County delivered to the Speaker for communication to the County Assembly." In this regard Hon. Members I wish to report that the Office of the Speaker is in receipt of a Message from H.E the Governor of Nairobi City County.

Hon. Members,

The Message regards the list of nominees as Members of the County Executive

Committee.

I now wish to convey the following Message -

LIST OF NOMINEES AS MEMBERS OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

As you are aware, Article 179(2)(b) of the Constitution provides that Members of the County Executive Committee shall be appointed by the County Governor, with the approval of the County Assembly, from among persons who are not Members of the Assembly.

Pursuant to the provisions of Article 179(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 35 of the County Government Act, 2012, I hereby nominate the following list of names as Members of the Nairobi City County Executive Committee:-

S/NO	NAMES	POSITION
1.	Lucia Mulwa	Education, Youth, Gender, Culture and
		Social Services
2.	Dr. Stella Bosire Otieno	Health
3.	Winfred Gathagu	Finance and Economic Planning
4.	Pauline Kahiga Waititu	Public Service Management and
		Devolution
5.	Sanjeev Kaur Sonia Birdi	Environment

Hon. Members with this, the Nairobi City County Government will be fully constituted as other five County Executive Committee Members were previously vetted and have valid contracts. However, with the appointment of the new County Executive Committee Members, the remaining will be re-assigned as follows:-

S/NO	NAMES	POSITION
1.	Charles Kerich	Lands, Urban Planning, Urban Renewal
		and Housing
2.	Mohamed Dagane	Roads, Infrastructure and Transport
3.	Allan Igambi	Trade, Tourism and Cooperatives
4.	Larry Wambua	Agriculture and Water
5.	Newton Munene	ICT, Communication and E-
		Government

This is to also notify you that I have received a request from the NASA Coalition that, in the spirit of the Handshake and subsequent cooperation with the ruling Jubilee Coalition, I should consider their proposed nominee, Rahab Wangui, for the position Of Deputy Governor.

This is therefore to notify you that I shall not be forwarding the name of my Deputy Governor nominee today, to allow for further consultations. I will however nominate a suitable Deputy Governor at the earliest possible opportunity.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Hon. Members, I now direct that the Select Committee on Appointments proceed with the vetting of the nominees for Members of the Nairobi City County Executive Committee.

4. STATEMENTS PURSUANT TO STANDING ORDER 45(2)(c)

Pursuant to Standing Order 45 (2) (c) the following responses to Statement was requested:-

a) Hon. David Okello, MCA from the Chairperson of the Sectoral Committee on Transport and Public Works regarding the status of construction of St. Martin Road in Huruma Ward.

And the time being Four O'clock, the Hon. Speaker adjourned the Assembly without Question put pursuant to the Standing Orders.

ASSEMBLY ROSE - Four O' clock.

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on Tuesday, 19th February 2019 at 2.30p.m

--x--