

#### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

### NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

### FIRST ASSEMBLY – (FIFTH SESSION)

### **ORDERS OF THE DAY**

# WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2017 AT 2.30 P.M. ORDER OF BUSINESS

#### **PRAYERS**

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- **6.** Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

# 8. \*. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – (Chairperson, Assembly Business Committee)

**THAT**, pursuant to Standing Order 25(1), this Assembly approves the Calendar of the Assembly (Regular Sessions) for the Fifth Session of the Assembly, as contained in the Schedule attached to the Order Paper.

# 9. \*. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – Limitation of Debate on a Motion (Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

# 10.\*. PROCEDURAL MOTION – Limitation of Debate on Bills sponsored by Parties or Committees – (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on Bills sponsored by a Committee, the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party be limited as follows:- A maximum of forty five (45) minutes for the Mover, in moving and fifteen minutes (15) in replying, a maximum of thirty (30) minutes for the Chairperson of the relevant Committee (if the Bill is not sponsored by the relevant Committee), and a maximum of ten (10) minutes for any other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen Minutes (15) each (if the Bill is not sponsored by either of them); and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

# 11. \* <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – Limitation of Debate on Individual Members' Bills - (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on Bills NOT sponsored by a Committee, the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party be limited as follows:- A maximum of three hours and thirty minutes, with not more than thirty (30) minutes for the Mover, in moving and ten (10) minutes in replying, a maximum of thirty (30) minutes for the Chairperson of the relevant Committee and a maximum of ten (10) minutes for any other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen Minutes (15) each; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order

# 12. \* PROCEDURAL MOTION - Limitation of Debate on Report of a Committee - (The Leader of the Majority Party)

**THAT**, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on a **Report of a Committee**, a Sessional Paper or any other Report submitted to the Assembly, be limited as follows: - A maximum of sixty (60) minutes for the Mover in moving and thirty (30) minutes in replying, and a maximum of ten (10) minutes for any other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each; and that priority be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, in that Order.

...../13

# 13.\* PROCEDURAL MOTION - Limitation of Debate on Adjournment - (The Leader of the Majority Party)

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, the debate on any Motion for the Adjournment of the Assembly to a day other than the next normal Sitting Day in accordance with the Calendar of the Assembly, be limited to a maximum of three (3) hours with not more than five (5) minutes for each Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of ten (10) minutes each; and that priority be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, in that order. Provided that, when the period of Recess proposed by any such motion does not exceed ten (10) days, the debate shall be limited to a maximum of thirty minutes (30), and shall be strictly confined to the question of the adjournment.

## 14. \* PROCEDURAL MOTION – (Chairperson, Selection Committee)

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order No. 156 (1), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following members nominated by the Selection Committee to the Sectoral Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs:-

- 1. Hon. Jaffer Kassam, MCA
- 2. Hon. Moses Ogeto, MCA
- 3. Hon. Akuk Mo, MCA
- 4. Hon. Elkana Mauti, MCA
- 5. Hon. Jacqueline Awino, MCA
- 6. Hon. Manoah Mboku, MCA
- 7. Hon. Elias Otieno Okumu, MCA
- 8. Hon. David Mberia, MCA
- 9. Hon. Jane Musya, MCA
- 10. Hon. Peter Migwi, MCA
- 11. Hon. Kamau Thuo, MCA
- 12. Hon. Muchiri Mwaniki, MCA
- 13. Hon. Martin Karanja, MCA
- 14. Hon. George Njoroge Maina, MCA
- 15. Hon. Jackson Kiamam Gikandi, MCA
- 16. Hon. Dorcas Njoroge, MCA
- 17. Hon. Mercy Kariuki, MCA

## 15. \* PROCEDURAL MOTION - (Chairperson, Selection Committee)

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order No. 156 (1), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following members nominated by the Selection Committee to various Committees:-

- 1. Hon. Kingsley Odida, MCA be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Trade, Tourism and Cooperatives;
- 2. Hon. Alexina Mudi, MCA be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Children Early Childhood Education and Vocational Training; and
- 3. Hon. Hellen Katangie, MCA be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Health Services

## **NOTICES**

### THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

## CALENDAR OF THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY (2017)

### **SCHEDULE**

PERIOD	DAYS
Fifth Session: First Part	Tuesday, 24 <sup>th</sup> January – Monday, 8 <sup>th</sup> May, 2017
A: Sitting Days Tuesday, 14 <sup>th</sup> February – Thursday, 6 <sup>th</sup> April, 2017 [9 weeks]	Tuesdays (afternoon), Wednesdays (afternoon) and Thursdays (afternoon)
B: Long Recess: Friday, 7 <sup>th</sup> April - Monday, 8 <sup>th</sup> May, 2017 [4 weeks]	
Fifth Session: Second Part	Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> May - Monday, 7 <sup>th</sup> August, 2017
C: Sitting Days Tuesday, 9 <sup>th</sup> May – Thursday, 15 <sup>th</sup> June, 2017 [6 weeks]	Tuesdays (afternoon), Wednesdays (and afternoon) and Thursdays (afternoon)
D: Sine Die Recess period Friday, 16 <sup>th</sup> June - Monday, 7 <sup>th</sup> August, 2017 [7 weeks]	Sine Die Recess period
End of Term of 1 <sup>st</sup> Assembly- 7 <sup>th</sup> August, 2017 at midnight	

In accordance with provisions of Standing Order 23, the first Sitting of the 2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly ought to be held not more than thirty days after the date of the election (tentatively not later than September 8, 2017)

\* Denotes Orders of the Day