Fourth Session (223)



# <u>REPUBLIC OF KENYA</u>

#### NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

# FIRST ASSEMBLY – (FOURTH SESSION)

# **ORDERS OF THE DAY**

## WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2016 AT 2.30 P.M.

# **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### **PRAYERS**

- **1.** Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

## 8. \*. <u>PROCEDURAL MOTION</u> – (Chairperson, Selection Committee)

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 156 (1), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following Members nominated by the Committee on Selection to their respective Committees;

- i. Hon. Florence Athembo be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Children, Early Childhood Education and Vocational Training;
- ii. Hon. Alvin Palapala be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Planning and Housing;
- iii. Hon. Catherine Okoth be appointed to the Select Committee on Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources;
- iv. Hon. Jairo Atenya be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Planning and Housing; and
- v. Hon. Mike Obonyo be appointed to the Sectoral Committee on Planning and Housing

## 9. \*. <u>THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY PUBLIC NUISANCE BILL, 2016</u> (ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 7 OF 2016)

(Hon. Samuel Nyang'wara)

(Second Reading)

#### 10.\*. <u>THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY REVENUE (AMENDMENT) BILL,</u> 2016 (ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 8 OF 2016)

(Chairperson, Select Committee on Finance, Budget & Appropriations)

(Second Reading)

## 11. MOTION – (Hon. David Mberia, MCA)

THAT, aware that Section 52 of the County Governments Act, 2012 establishes the office of village administrator for each village unit established in a county, while Section 53 of the same Act establishes, for each village unit, a village council whose composition is clearly detailed; noting that the roles of the Village Administrator amongst others is to coordinate, manage and supervise the general administrative functions in the village including pursuant to paragraph 14 of Part II of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution and ensuring and coordinating the participation of the village unit in governance; further noting that some Counties have set up the said offices in order to further devolve services to the very basic unit of society and improve delivery; recognizing that the aforesaid institutions and their crucial functions are central to the proper devolution of services across the sub-counties and village units in the County; deeply concerned that three years after the realization of the devolved system Nairobi City County is yet to establish the office of village administrator and constitute the Village Councils for reasons best known to the Executive; convinced that this inaction to further devolve functions has played a role in the frustration of Nairobi residents with poor service delivery due to over-centralization of services at City Hall, something which devolution sought to cure; this Assembly urges the County Executive to establish the offices contemplated under Section 52 and 53 of the County Governments Act, 2012, across the City to further enhance service delivery for Nairobi residents.

# NOTICES

#### I. Assembly resolved on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 as follows:-

**THAT,** notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any **Motion,** including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

#### II. Assembly resolved on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 as follows:-

**THAT**, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on **Bills** sponsored by a Committee, the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party be limited as follows:- A maximum of forty five (45) minutes for the Mover, in moving and fifteen minutes (15) in replying, a maximum of thirty (30) minutes for the Chairperson of the relevant Committee (if the Bill is not sponsored by the relevant Committee), and a maximum of ten (10) minutes for any other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen Minutes (15) each (if the Bill is not sponsored by either of them); and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

\* Denotes Orders of the Day