

#### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

## NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

# FIRST ASSEMBLY – (SECOND SESSION)

## **ORDERS OF THE DAY**

#### TUESDAY AUGUST 12, 2014 AT 2.30 P.M.

#### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### **PRAYERS**

- 1. Administration of Oath
- **2.** Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- **4.** Petitions
- **5.** Papers
- **6.** Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements

## 8. \*MOTION - (Hon. Kennedy Oduru)

THAT, aware that County transport including county roads, traffic and parking, street lighting and public road transport is the function of a county government under part Two of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution; further aware that recent years have witnessed an increase in the population working and residing within the Nairobi City County; noting that several back streets within the city centre have been blocked by private developers leading to vehicle and pedestrian congestion along the main streets especially during rush hours; concerned that there are no street lights along several back streets, a fact that has made such streets a security risk and unattractive to pedestrian use; this Assembly urges the County Government to open and repair all the blocked back streets within the city centre in order to ease vehicle and pedestrian congestion along the streets of the City and install street lights along all the back streets.

# NOTICE

The Assembly resolved on Wednesday, February 19, 2014 as follows:-

THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 94(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion including a Special motion, be limited in the following manner:- A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

\* Denotes Orders of the Day