Second Assembly (No. 059)





### NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

## SECOND ASSEMBLY – (FIFTH SESSION)

## ORDERS OF THE DAY

## **SUPPLEMENTARY**

### THURSDAY, OCTOBER 7, 2021 AT 2.30 P.M.

## **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

#### PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of Motion
- 7. Statement

#### 8. \*<u>PROCEDURAL MOTION – CHAIRPERSON, SELECT COMMITTEE ON</u> <u>SELECTION</u>

Subject: Appointment of Members to Various Committees

**THAT,** pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 201(1) and Standing Order 203(1), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following Members to the various Select Committees and the Sectoral Committees respectively;

#### 1) Select Committees

- a) Select Committee on Public Investments
  - ▶ Hon. Antony Kiragu be replaced by Hon. Joseph Wambugu.
  - ▶ Hon. Chege Mwaura be replaced by Hon. Mark Mugambi
  - ➢ Hon. Joyce Muthoni be replaced by Hon. Beatrice Gakuru

#### 2) Sectoral Committees

- a) Sectoral Committee on Culture Committee
  - ▶ Hon. Joseph Wambugu be replaced by Hon. Jeremiah Themendu

- ➢ Hon Mark Mugambi be replaced by Hon. Silas Matara
- b) Sectoral Committee on Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries
  - Hon. Antony Kiragu be replaced by Hon. Silas Matara
- c) Sectoral Committee on Health
  - ▶ Hon. Beatrice Gakuru be replaced by Hon. Asli Mohamed
- a) Sectoral Committee on Trade, Tourism and Cooperatives
  - ➢ Hon. Patrick Musili be replaced by Hon. Caroline Mayunzu
- b) Sectoral Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs
  - ▶ Hon. Patrick Musili be replaced by Hon. Caroline Mayunzu

#### 9. \*<u>MOTION</u> – <u>HON. MARK MUGAMBI, MCA</u>

Subjects: Interventions to prohibit PSV operators from terminating at petrol stations

THAT, aware that Article 46 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 provides that consumers of goods and services have a right to protection of their health, safety and economic interests; COGNIZANT THAT passengers aboard public service vehicles enjoy the rights to safety under statutes as it is under the Constitution including Section 27 of Nairobi City County Transport Act, 2020 which prohibits PSVs from picking and dropping passengers at undesignated bus stops; and Section 33 (g) of the Act prohibits PSVs not reaching the final destination and other actions that endanger the lives of passengers; NOTING THAT Section 11(g) of Energy Act mandate the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA) to formulate, set, enforce and review environmental, health, safety and quality standards for the energy sector in coordination with other statutory authorities including requiring fuel dispensing to safeguard against fire accidents; CONCERNED THAT petrol stations are areas that store and sell highly flammable substances including petrol and Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) that are susceptible to explosion unless necessary safety steps are taken by operators, consumers and passenger vehicles; OBSERVING THAT public transport vehicles have continued to violate public transport regulatory frameworks as well as safety standards for passengers by establishing and utilizing petrol stations as pick and drop terminals hence endangering lives of passengers despite safety signs and symbol placed by petrol station operators in accordance with the established regulatory frameworks. This Assembly urges the County Executive and the Nairobi Metropolitan Services to:

- 1) Issue a public notice prohibiting Public Transport Vehicles (PSVs) from terminating at petrol stations for picking and dropping of passengers; and
- 2) Formulate regulations to Nairobi City County Transport Act, 2020 forthwith to provide for punitive measures for operators who use petrol stations as termini. .../Notices

(No. 059)

# <u>NOTICES</u>

#### I. <u>The Assembly resolved on Tuesday, 9th February, 2021 as follows: -</u>

a. THAT, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order 103(4), this Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:-A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

<sup>\*</sup> Denotes Orders of the Day \*

(No. 059)

# **NOTICE PAPER I**

## <u>Tentative</u> business for Tuesday, 12<sup>th</sup> October, 2021 at 9.30a.m.

(Published pursuant to Standing Order 39(1))

IT IS NOTIFIED that the Select Committee on Assembly Business, at its last meeting, approved the following <u>tentative</u> business to appear in the Order Paper for Tuesday, 12<sup>th</sup> October, 2021 at 9.30 a.m.: -

#### A. <u>MOTION – HON. PETER A. IMWATOK, MCA</u> Subjects: Renaming of Mbagathi Way after Rt. Hon. Raila A. Odinga.

**THAT**, aware that the Country has a history of conferring honors and recognition on its most outstanding citizens for their service, acts or deeds which promote public good; NOTING that this tradition has historically been done by both the National government and the then County or Municipal Councils, which now are County Governments; COGNIZANT that these honors and recognition has extended to not just medals and titles, but the renaming of roads and other public facilities after our heroes and heroines and other valiant Kenyans; OBSERVING that the Rt. Hon. Raila Amollo Odinga, EGH has for the entire period of his adult life greatly impacted in the development of the Kenyan State both democratically and economically; and has during this period been involved in fighting for greater democratic space, good governance, rule of law and development of infrastructure against many odds including detention without trial for ten years ; NOTING that in 2005, as the Minister for Roads and Public Works, Raila Odinga conceived, planned and implemented masterpiece infrastructure such as the Thika Super Highway and the Mbagathi way concrete road which has since proved to be the most durable road ever constructed in Kenya; GRATEFUL that his recent actions of shaking hands with both the former President H.E. President Mwai Kibaki, EGH and H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta, EGH led to restoration of peace and harmony in Kenya; **RECOGNIZING** that in recognition of these decades of service, the African Union (AU) recently appointed him as the African Union High Representative for Infrastructure Development; NOW THEREFORE, this Assembly RESOLVES that the Nairobi City County Government rename Mbagathi Way in Kibra Constituency, Nairobi City County to Raila Odinga Way in recognition of Rt. Hon. Raila Amolo Odinga's contribution in the development and growth of the Kenyan State including his selfless sacrifice in championing for good governance, democratic space and development of infrastructure for the period of his entire adult life.