

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

NAIROBI CITY COUNTY ASSEMBLY

SECOND ASSEMBLY – (FIFTH SESSION)

ORDERS OF THE DAY

TUESDAY, MARCH 16, 2021 AT 2.30 P.M.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- **6.** Notices of Motion
- 7. Statements
- 8. *BILL THE NAIROBI CITY COUNTY FINANCE BILL, 2020 (ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 7 OF 2020)

Subject: Second Reading

The Nairobi City County Finance Bill, 2020 (Assembly Bill No. 7 of 2020)

(Second Reading)

(Chairperson, Select Committee on County Finance, Budget & Appropriations)

9. *MOTION – HON. MARY ARIVIZA MWAMI. MCA

Subjects: Re-appointment of the earlier approved Members of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Board.

AWARE THAT the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Act, 2015 was passed by the Assembly on 2nd December 2015, assented into law on 12th January 2016 and subsequently gazette vide the Nairobi City County Gazette Supplement No. 24 (Act. No. 9); FURTHER AWARE that Section 4 of the said Act establishes the Nairobi County Board for Persons with Disabilities with its membership specified in Section 5 of the Act, which includes;-

- i) Three persons nominated by organizations representing persons with various categories of disability within the County;
- ii) Two Members appointed from a panel of names submitted to the CECM by organizations for PWD subject to approval by the Assembly;
- iii) Chief Officer or Director representing the following departments; (a) Culture and Social Services, (b) Education, (c) Labour, and,
- iv) Such other members as may be co-opted by the Board subject to approval by the County Assembly.

APPRECIATING that; Section 5 (2) of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Act, 2015 provides that the membership of the Board shall not exceed Eleven persons, out of whom at least half of the members SHALL be persons with disabilities; NOTING that the Nairobi City County Assembly through the Sectoral Committee on Labour and Social Welfare vetted and APPROVED the nominees to the Nairobi City Count Persons with Disabilities Board as it were, being;-

- i) Dr. Lumbi Wa M'nabea Business Owners Association;
- ii) Nickson Ochieng' Kakiri -;
- iii) Yvonne Buliba Okwara Brian Resources Training, Production and Dissemination Centre;
- iv) Charity Njoki Kamau Association for Youth with Disabilities Kenya;
- v) Peter Achola Oloo Kenya Amputee Football Federation;
- vi) James Nganga Karanja Defently Talented Society of Kenya;
- vii) Leonard Misigo Ondego Cerabral Palsy Disability Sports;
- viii) Fern Eshuchi Fair Miles School
- ix) Ruth Akinyi Auwor Director Education (Executive);
- x) Leboo Ole Morintat Chief Officer Public Service Management (Executive);
- xi) Shem Ombura Nyandwaro Director Culture and Social Services (Executive);

FUTHER NOTING that; the names of the aforementioned approved nominees were subsequently gazette vide a Gazette Notice No. 9 of 2015 on 28th July 2017 for a 3 years term as per Section 6 of the Act; DISTURBED that operationalization of the Act was never realized as the Board lacked funding, Office and Secretariat; FURTHER DISTURBED that; the term of the first Persons with Disabilities Board ended prior to its realization; ACKNOWLEDGING that the Annual Development Plan for the FY 2021/2022 has addressed the same; this ASSEMBLY RESOLVES that; the Nairobi City County Public Service Board urgently re-appoints the earlier approved and gazette Members of the Nairobi City County Persons with Disabilities Board vide Gazette Notice No. 9 of 2015 on 28th July 2017 as it were for an extra term.

NOTICES

I. The Assembly resolved on Tuesday, 9th February, 2021 as follows: -

Assembly orders that, each speech in a debate on any Motion, including a Special motion be limited in the following manner:-A maximum of three hours with not more than twenty (20) minutes for the Mover and ten (10) minutes for each other Member speaking, except the Leader of the Majority Party and the Leader of the Minority Party, who shall be limited to a maximum of fifteen (15) minutes each, and that ten (10) minutes before the expiry of the time, the Mover shall be called upon to reply; and that priority in speaking be accorded to the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party and the Chairperson of the relevant Sectoral Committee, in that Order.

* Denotes Orders of the Day *